Workout Report: Bench Day 1/15/11

Posted: January 15, 2011 in Workout Reports

It was bench day again today.  I had a really good rest last night, and was feeling pretty darned well.  Consequently, I upped the intensity of a few elements of my workout this time.

I changed my starting weight for my progression on leg press/calf extension this time around.  I topped out doing 410 lbs for 10/20, which is all the machine will do.  No knee problems today, other than some clicking on the left knee.  No weakness afterward.  The muscles are toughening up.  Just for fun, I figured out the difference in weight moved, and found that I moved 400 more pounds with the leg press, and 800 more with the calf press.  Not bad.  I figure that I’ll keep going up until all six sets of both movement are done with the 410 weight.  Once that’s easy, I’ll have to start hassling the gym runners to get a darned squat rack in there.

Bench went fairly well today.  Got 315 for a triple with fair ease, and got three authoritative singles with 335.  The one that pleased me most was my final set, where I got 20 reps with 225.  That’s fairly respectable for an old fat guy.  My best is 32 reps, and that was fresh, and when I was in great bench form.  I’ll be interested to see if I can break that record.

I got through my lifts pretty fast today, so I had time for extra cardio.  I did a total 35 minutes on the elliptical machine today, going for higher intensity levels than I have done before.  There was a lot of sweat going on.

My various iffy joints and twinged muscles all behaved.  Perhaps it was the shot of Aquavit I had last night, courtesy of my friends Stephanie and David.  Or the Viking movie we watched.  Who knows?  All I know is that I’m pleased to not be in much pain.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

