Workout Report: Deadlift Day 1/25/11 (plus notes)

Posted: January 25, 2011 in Strength Stunts, Workout Reports

Nothing earthshaking to report at this time.  I was a little bit iffy this morning, but I managed to get a 395 3-rep and a 325 5-rep.  No improvement over last time, but a solid outing on a snowy day when I wasn’t too excited about getting out of bed.

Other thoughts: I tried barbell hack squats yesterday, primarily out of curiosity.  Yes, they feel odd.  No, not as odd as I initially thought.  I didn’t try much weight, as I was in my work clothes, and didn’t want to pop a seam.  Even with the small amount of weight, I felt it in my quads about an hour later, just above the knee.  I’m going to have to explore further.

Also, I tried bending a 5/16ths carriage bolt yesterday.  It was way too squishy.  I don’t feel like I got my money’s worth out of it.  I would say that it may be less stern than a standard 60D nail, and a lot more money.  Don’t bother with carriage bolts, except for impressing the uninformed at parties.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

