New Dumb Stunts:

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Strength Stunts

I know the following things about myself now:

1) I can shoulder an 80 pound sandbag, then do an (admittedly sloppy) snatch with another 50 pound bag to get it above my head.  This, in itself, is not terribly easy.  I can, once in the above-mentioned position, do a squat without ripping my pants.  I did this stunt in my driveway, and was successful in both shoulder/hand configurations.

2) I can shoulder the 80 pound bag, then one-hand deadlift a 100 pound bag in the opposing hand. This is a “chicken by the neck” style deadlift.  Because it is rather difficult to gather up the fabric of a sandbag and get a good grasp on it while holding another sandbag on one’s shoulder, this is not the easiest thing in the world to do.  At least for me.  Your mileage may vary.  That said, again, I could repeat the stunt with both hands.

I would have come to other realizations, but there was a blizzard, and my garage has both a motorcycle and a broken dishwasher clogging up the works.  Perhaps tonight, when I get back from a writer’s conference I’m at, I’ll try something truly absurd, like shouldering a 150 and then picking up a heavy bucket.  Or, maybe, holding a 50 pound bag overhead and reaching down to grab two cinderblocks in a pinch grip.  Videos will, perhaps, follow, provided that I don’t injure myself badly.

Stunt well, and stunt safely!

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    Having obtained such profound personal insight pretty much guarantees you’ll never need a therapist, other than perhaps a physical therapist. Stunt on – lol, Mike

Leave a Reply

