Workout Report: Bench Day 3/5/11

Posted: March 6, 2011 in Workout Reports

I was finally feeling well enough to go back to the gym yesterday. Not full strength, but better. I didn’t push it too hard, as I had no urge to cause myself to backslide in my recovery process.

Here are a few observations:

  • 80 lb dumbbells are not light.
  • Bench Press rewards consistency. I can feel a sense of loss after just a few missed workouts.
  • Dead stop/dynamic effort bench sessions take the pee out of your triceps pretty fast. (Stopping on your chest, then accelerating the bar as hard as you can with each rep.)
  • Machine leg exercises just don’t stress your system very well. I did just about every leg machine in the gym yesterday, and I don’t feel a thing today. I could brutalize my legs in twenty minutes with caveman implements, and I’d be stiff for two solid days afterward. Machines are fine for warming up your muscles and joints, and they can be all right for rehab, but they just don’t cut the mustard in terms of forcing your body into overload.

Well, that’s about it. I hope to have some news about a few additional implements I’ll be building up and testing in the next few days.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

