Workout Report: Bench Day 3/12/11

Posted: March 13, 2011 in Workout Reports

Boy, I was stiff and sore this morning. It took me a concerted effort to get out of bed. After cavemanning on Wednesday and Thursday, my body was talking contract dispute. Although it would have been easy to wimp out, I didn’t. In fact, I think that it’s often a mistake to lay around when we’re at our most sore. Sometimes, you have to just bite the dog back. In lifting terms, you just have to hit the muscles again to clear out the stiffness.

This time, I did the leg exercises with a purpose, which was to get the legs tuned up in such a way as to walk around more comfortably. I did curls, extensions, and presses. The notable set was a long-ass 40 rep set at 305 on the leg press. The elliptical machine warm up and the bike afterward didn’t hurt to get the blood flowing, either.

On the bench, I did another workout with the stop on the chest. This week, I did eight sets of five, with three narrow, three wide, and two in between. I also did dumbbell rows, butterflies, and reverse butterflies. My elbow was twinging and so I skipped Irish Mike curls this time around.

It was a pretty good workout, and served its purpose in getting me limbered up and moving without too big a hitch in my giddyup.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

