Workout Report: Deadlift Day 3/15/11

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Ah, the elusive “ten wheels” deadlift. Didn’t quite get it this morning. My best pull was 485 on the trap bar, but 505 wasn’t in the cards. That said, I’m not totally unhappy.

Due to illness and other issues, I haven’t done a deadlift day for a while. I’ve been making up the time, to some extent, in the caveman gym, but I’m pleased to have not really lost much momentum in my quest for 500 on the trap bar, my personal best from way back when I was 17, and deadlifted all the time.

The 485 pull was reasonably clean, but about as close to a max lift as I could come this morning. When I tried 505, I got it about three or four inches off the ground, but it started to look and feel ugly, and I put it down. Further attempts kicked in the body’s self protection mechanisms, and wouldn’t budge.

I warmed up beforehand on the leg machines and back extension, as well as doing my 20 minutes on the elliptical. After deadlift, I ran the racks doing dumbbell overhead press, going from 35 to 70. I also did 5×5 with 200 in pulldowns, and finished with a set of dips.

Considering that I’ve been away for a while and figured that I’d have to do a light workout this week, things came together pretty well. I’m hoping that, within a few weeks, I’ll hoist the ten wheels and hit my goal. I suspect that I’m pretty darned close, and just have to have “that” kind of day to make it happen.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

