Boomerang Illness, Owning the Blue Meanie, and Other Thoughts

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Articles, Strength Stunts

I was sick. I got mostly better. Now I’m feeling sick again, in a different way. Most of my department at work has experienced this same set of issues. I feel like I work in a petri dish some days. I’m hoping that things clear up soon, as I’m coming up on a vacation, and don’t want to waste my off time feeling crappy.

Despite the feeling like crud issue, I have some strength stunt news, and that’s primarily that I finally got the Blue Meanie overhead cleanly yesterday. I was too dizzy and iffy in general to get a full workout in, but that’s a milestone for me, as I’d shied away from putting the big 150 overhead. Well, it’s been fully defeated now, and I suppose I’ll have to build up a 200 lb bag to further challenge myself.

In other news, I recently bought some new grip training aids called Grip Pro grippers. They are rubber donuts that you can grip in various ways. I got a three pack of them for around $16, and I think they’re pretty darned neat. They’re listed at 30, 40, and 50 pounds of resistance, but I think that’s a highly inaccurate measure. The light gripper, the green one, is quite easy, and would be suited well to rehab and for people with compromised grip strength. The black donut would probably be good for the average user, or the strong guy who wanted to do higher reps, active rest, or some of the more challenging sorts of moves, like pinch grip. The red donut, which is quite hard, is good for strong folks or those who want to reach that level. They are pretty easy on the hands, and provide a different feel and resistance curve than the spring grippers. At the price, they’re a worthy investment, methinks.

I was clued in to this gripper after reading a book called “Corp Strength” by retired Gunnery Master Sergeant Paul J. Roarke, where he recommended them. The things that were lauded in the book–ease of use, simplicity, effectiveness–are certainly in evidence. I can recommend the book to you, as well. I think it’s a sensible and useful set of instructions for getting into good shape, and I think the writing is appropriate to the topic. Readers are treated like adults, and the strictures of “real life” are understood by the author. It’s a quick read, and most people should pick up at least a few ideas from it.

Will I stop using the Captains of Crush? Heck, no. But I will have yet another tool to challenge my grip, and that’s neat in itself.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

