Workout Report: Deadlift Day, 4/5/11 Wheels Up!

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Workout Reports

A long, long time ago, when I was seventeen, I walked into weightlifting class and was introduced to a strange new implement that I had never seen before. It was roughly square shaped, and the weights were loaded at two corners. You stood inside it and grasped handles that were welded within that space, hosting the “bar” off the ground. They called it a trap bar. I loaded my characteristic 500 lbs on the damn thing and picked it up. It was ugly, difficult, and not at all fun. “That sucked,” I proclaimed. I never tried to lift heavy on it again, preferring to do somewhere around 225 for high reps instead. Straight bar deadlift all the way, I told myself.

In the intervening years, I’ve done a lot of different programs, a lot of different lifts, but I had generally left the trap bar alone. Even straight bar deadlifting was, for the longest time, left behind like a “childish thing”. Well, I’ve been over what a mistake that was, so I won’t plow that field again. The point is that, in the realm of actually braking a personal best my trap bar deadlift was one of the few that was somewhat vulnerable. When I found that there was a trap bar (the nicer, hexagonal type) in the gym, a little light turned on in my head. I had a chance to break a record.

You’ll notice I’m speaking in the past tense in the above comments. Why? Because I went in and hoisted 505 yesterday, exceeding my ancient record on the trap bar. It came up fairly easily, and there are no ill effects present the day afterward. Thus, one of my lifting goals has been met. I’m hoping I can pull that weight for a triple by June.

Did the rest of the workout go well? Sure. I hit all the marks, hosted the weights, etc. Do I care at this moment? Nah. I’m just feeling good about getting the ten wheels up off the deck and doing it safely.

So, on the day I turn 37, I’m happy to say that I can do at least one lift like I did it back in the glory days.

Happy lifting!

Comments
  1. Bobby-T says:

    Congrats & happy birthday.

  2. Mike says:

    Hey Patrick,

    Congrats on making the ten wheels lift. I can’t really imagine moving 505 without a few assistants. And happy birthday too! Perhaps not your glory days but everything is relative. You’re just hitting your stride – I suspect there are more personal bests yet to come.

    • Mike, in the scheme of things, 505 is not earthshaking. However, it’s not bad for a middle aged computer geek. I hope that you’re right on the subject of new records. If the personal bests do come, it will be a product of being more consistent, rather than simply more physically gifted. As with most things, your gym work yields what you’re willing to put in.

Leave a Reply

