Workout Report: Bench Day 4/23/2011

Posted: April 24, 2011 in Workout Reports

Bench day happened. Nothing altogether unusual transpired, but I’ll give you a quick rundown below the fold.

  • 30 minutes on the elliptical
  • Your typical 3×10 on the leg curls and extensions to warm up my knees
  • 3×10 with 405 on the leg presses (oof!)
  • 3×10 with whatever was the whole stack on back extensions/machine goodmornings
  • Benching with 225, the first few sets with the super slow negative and stop on the chest, like a powerlifter would do in a “gear” meet, then the rest of the sets as fast as I could go, dynamic effort style. All sets to five reps.
  • Bent-over rows from the bench, 5×5 with 225. Can’t say enough about how impressed I am with this exercise. Certainly one of my new favorites. With the dead stop and precise technique, it really does a lot of work. I feel it the most in my elbow complex thus far. I suspect that my deadlift work has probably strengthened my upper back to the point where the biceps brachii and forearm muscles are my weak link. Good stuff.
  • Butterflies and reverse butterflies, 3×10. I do these primarily as support work for the heavy sandbag bearhugs and also to condition my shoulder joints, which can sometimes take a beating from various stunts. It is easy to overlook the rear deltoid, and I want to be sure that my problematic shoulders are as tight in the sockets as can be.
  • A quick superset of tricep presses and cable curls, standing. 3×20/12 with same weight. Though I’m not in a big arm training phase, I do need my arms for a lot of the goofy stuff I do when I’m bending and ripping.
  • Finished up with 10 minutes on the bike

Happy Lifting!

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    I went off my diet this weekend and hit the gym yesterday and only did 35 minutes on the
    elliptical and damn near died lol. It’s going to be really interesting to see what happens as I am on a totally new Diet(as in food) Been eating alot better but now that I’m off the suppliments, My body has to relearn to get food from the proper locations. I was weak and way tired yesterday and weak today, but am looking forward to going back on Wed. I’m going to give cardio a week then begin my weight training next week. Pretty excited!

    Looking forward to my slam bag lol

  2. Chris, good luck with your new diet. Hope it works for you. I think you’ll love the slam bag. They’re too much fun.

Leave a Reply

