Update: New Toys

Posted: May 17, 2011 in kettlebells, Uncategorized

If you go to the sports store, especially the used sports equipment shop, you’re going to find some dusty piece of equipment, and you’re going to start thinking about it, even after you leave. You’ll start to consider how, if you had that implement, you’d be able to do new things. You begin to fall in love, before you even know it…

You start dreaming about scenarios in which you’ve bought said implement, and you’re happy, doing things you can only imagine right now. In the dream, you’re prettier than you ever have been, and more well-liked by your friends and co-workers. The days are gently warm, and the sun fills the air with soft, late spring brilliance. Your shoes fit better. Your hair does what you want it to. Life is good, or it would be, if you only had that gizmo that they have at the sports store…

Anyhow, that’s my experience, and a fictionalized version of the thought process that ended with me admitting my love for a used set of dumbbells and a cut-price kettlebell. You’ve already seen photographic evidence.

Happy Lifting!

Comments
  1. Note: feeling happy, as I just saw that those dumbbells that I paid around $110 for list for $885. No wonder they’re REALLY nice…

  2. Mike says:

    Hey Patrick,

    It’s a small indulgence and you got a good bargan – no further justification required. Based on the photographic evidence, you’re already looking stronger, more confident, and dare I say it, better looking.;)

    Further research: Lene Lovich, Song “New Toy”
    “I want a New Toy (oh ay oh), to keep my head expanding.” …
    (An oldie but a goodie.)

  3. Mike,

    Thanks, but I don’t think it’s working quite yet…

    I listened to the Lene Lovich song. She’s, er, different. That said, I think that more than a few artists I’m more familiar with probably took a page from her book in terms of vocal delivery. I just didn’t know it. I do need to keep my head expanding, so I can relate to her lyrics.

    Peace!

    • Mike says:

      Hi Patrick,

      The title of your post sparked a free association chain that inevitably landed on Lene Lovich and New Toy (oh ay oh). I’m glad you found it … interesting.

  4. Bobby-T says:

    Cool new toys!! They’ll add a new dimension to your Caveman workouts that’s for sure. As Mike said, “you’re looking stronger” already. I’ve really been enjoying MY new toy – the Centroid – what a great bow! I’d send you pictures, but I haven’t got anything set up for that on my backup computer. I’ll just have to bring it with me, along with the Omen, of course and the Primal and the Speedzone….
    Bob

  5. Bobby-T says:

    I just e-mailed a picture of the Centroid.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

