Workout Report: Deadlift Day 5/17/11

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

I ate steak last night. With sauteed onions on top. With corn on the cob and mashed potatoes. This means that I was ready to pull when I got to the gym this morning. More below the fold.

As I alluded to a while ago, I wanted to go for some big weights again. This was the day. I loaded up the trap bar and did warmups at 145, 235, and 325, then dove right in, doing a 3×3 with 415, and three singles at 465, 485, and 505. I found that the belt at the gym actually fits me, and used it for the singles. It felt nice, and I did appreciate the support on my back for the heavy lifts.

The 505 lift came up easy and I didn’t feel undue strain. I mean, when you stand up with five hundred plus, you’re going to have an increase in blood pressure, and breathing will be a bit of a chancy thing, but it was as comfortable as it’s been since I was a strapping young lad.

I have been obsessed with the shoulder press for reps that they do in the Arnold Classic and other strongman events. Now, guys like Derek Poundstone, Zadrunas Savickas, and other inhuman tyrants of unexplainable fortitude do this lift with massive circus dumbbells that might weigh over 200 lbs. There’s video of Paul Anderson doing a shoulder press with a 300 pound dumbbell, which still seems utterly fantastical to me, but apparently really happened.

For my own workouts, I am content to stick with “heavy”, rather than delving into the realm of “the physicists are puzzled.” The biggest ‘bells that they have at my gym are 80s, and I selected those for my pursuit of the day.

Essentially, you pick up the dumbbell with both hands from the floor, hoisting it onto your shoulder, then pressing it to lockout. In competition, it appears that the judges don’t care whether one “jerks” or push-presses the weight, as long as you are only using one hand once it gets to shoulder level. I prefer to do a strict shoulder press, but I am, again, not lifting what they are.

After one presses the dumbbell to lockout, he lets the ‘bell down to shoulder level, catching with the other hand and lowering the bell to the floor. Again, this slightly diverges from the competition lift, in that they just drop the bell from up top. Gym proprietors tend to view this with disfavor. It’s also dangerous if you don’t have some sort of catch pad, like a matress or several sheets of rubber. You could damage your equipment, or have it bounce up and smack you in the shin or crush a toe. That’s no good. Just put it down under control.

From the ground, you grip the ‘bell with your other hand, hoist it up, and press. I go back and forth between hands, although you could certainly just do as many as you can with one hand, then do it again with the other hand.

This is a real pea-bringer of an exercise. I did alternating 5s, then 4s, then 3 sets across with 3. Sounds easy, but I was soaked with sweat and breathing like a draft horse after every set. It’s good stuff. It has the caveman seal of approval.

The rest of the workout is as it was last time, with pull downs, dips, and the obligatory leg warmups.

Thus far, I’ve been pleased with the feeling I’ve gotten from adding the EAS Whey protein to my regimen. It’s early days, though, so I will get more data before I say anything I can’t take back.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

