Workout Report: Deadlift Day 5/24/11

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Workout Reports

Some days, the weight seems to leap off the ground by itself. Sometimes, it doesn’t seem enthusiastic to help. Today was one of the latter days. Not a bad workout, but nothing of distinction happened in the trap bar deadlift arena. More below the fold.

So TBDL: 5×5 at 325, then a 3 rep at 395, then singles at 415 and 445. Yep. Not a great day. My leg drive wasn’t quite where I like it, and my quads are still sore. Evidently it’ll take me a while to get used to squatting again.

My back was feeling a little fried, and my body wasn’t responding well to any further spine-loaded exercise, so I elected to skip the overhead presses. I’ll make them up in the next day or two.

Pulldowns felt much better. Since I’m at the bottom of the stack, I’ve decided to work upward in volume. In the beginning, I was doing 5×5. A few weeks ago, I went to 6×6. Today, I went to 6×7, and it was good. I’m going to stay there for a few weeks, then try 6×8. My evil plan is to start doing pull-ups when I’ve reached 6×10. By then, I should be ready, theoretically, though pull-ups are not a walk in the park for old, decrepit fat guys.

I finished with some dips, then went and rode the bike. As always, I started my workout with some elliptical and leg curls and extensions.

Happy Lifting!

Leave a Reply

