Workout Report: One Set, 37 Minutes

Posted: June 9, 2011 in Workout Reports

At lunch today, I had one of the great workouts ever. Really. It was fantastic. I finished feeling energized, washed clean, pumped up to the nth degree, and generally amazing. More below the fold.

I’ve been telling you for a while about how much I love the shoulder press for reps exercise. I’ve also been blathering on and on about how much I like my big 90 lb dumbells from Iron Grip. Today, those two things came together, along with the unwilling help of a folded up exercise mat and one eager caveman, and produced a magical workout that I’ll probably look back upon with fondness for some time.

A little background: I picked up a pair of 90s a while ago at a great price from the local used sporting goods place, Play It Again Sports. Out the door, the pair was around $110. List price: $885/pair. Good deals were had by yours truly. I have been keeping those big badboys at work, along with my k-bell, exercise attire, and some athletic chalk.

I brought in some wrist bands today, as I’m known for sweating, and I’ve found it hard to maintain dry hands on some of my workouts of late. That’s especially important for the k-bell, as it has a large, smooth handle, and slick hands are no good for that sort of thing.

Going into the workout today, I had a few nebulous ideas about what I might do. One thing I knew going in is that I would do the press for reps. For those coming in late, you scoop up a big dumbbell from the ground, hoist it to the shoulder, then press it (press it, don’t jerk it up there). Then you put the weight down, switch hands, and do it again. Every rep starts and ends at the ground. Every rep sees you lock your elbow out and hold the weight for a few seconds overhead. It’s a great lift, really.

Anyway, I came in, stretched out for a few minutes, warmed up with a few reps with the lighter dumbbells, then put the music on. With that, I got out the big dumbbell, put it on the folded up exercise mat (to deaden the sound of it being repeatedly put down, sometimes a little hard),  and went to work.

My idea was to go at a measured pace, never letting the weight sit there unmoving for a real long time, but not acting like my tail was on fire, either. No sitting down, no wandering off, no long gazing into my own bellybutton. Just work. Pick it up, press it, put it down. Rinse and repeat.

I decided that I’d go until failure, then see what other mischief I could get myself into. And off I went. And went. And went. It seemed that I’d never fail. Once I hit the groove, as long as I blew air for a few seconds between lifts, I just kept locking out my arm and successfully completing the lift.

It went on. Songs came and went. I started to feel like I was getting too tired, but then I seemed to hit a groove and things got easier. It started to become silly. I began to not worry about what exercise would come next, because things had developed an inertia of their own, and I knew that this was all I would need for the day.

On one rep, I failed with the left hand, and thought it was over. I waited a few seconds, thought about it, then tried again, because I felt that I’d just put the ‘bell up sloppily that time. Sure enough, I completed another rep, and ended up completing maybe six or seven more reps after that, before I finally bombed out altogether and knew that the day was done.

In the end, I’d been doing the exercise for 37 minutes straight. I have no idea how many reps I got. A lot. I was absolutely drenched in sweat, and I felt good, really good. To give you an idea, I started lifting half way through the first song on a CD I was playing, and ended half way through the 13th track.

I didn’t know I could do that. I don’t know if I could capture lightning in a bottle and replicate the workout. It was just organically able to happen today, and I’m thankful for it. At least this time, I managed to follow the Ironmind motto: “Lift More Than You Can.”

Happy Lifting!

Comments
  1. Mike Tracy says:

    Well, we all know that shit happens; but sometimes flow happens too! I guess if it happened all the time we wouldn’t be so amazed when everything just clicked and fell into place. You’ve been training religiously for some time now – so you definetly have some flow days stored in your account. Your efforts are starting to pay off. Thanks for posting.

  2. Mike,

    I suppose the idea of storing up the ability to do noteworthy workouts has some merit. Sort of like the old saw, “the harder I work, the luckier I get,” This exercise thing really doesn’t take that much, as long as you actually WANT to do it. For me, it always helps me feel better, cope with stress, and have a sense of well-being through the day, even if I’m a little sore and creaky from it. I think that selecting the exercises that seem to have the best effect vs. time spent is also probably important. Even if I get just one of my weekly workouts done, it still helps, as they’re all composed of no BS exercises.

    Anyhow, happy birthday, and I look forward to talking with you again soon.

Leave a Reply

