Update and Teaser: What I’ve been up to lately

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Archery, Articles, Unfocused Rambling

So, yeah. It’s been quiet here on the Caveman Gym, huh? Let me explain.

1) It’s the summer. Things come up. Like nice weather, and the need to fix the sprinkler system.

2) I am doing the work of three technicians at work. It’s super fun. I’ve been exhausted by the time I get home.

3) I’ve had some actual writing work to do. Yeah! Turns out, you need to put your butt in the chair and your hands on the keyboard.

4) I’ve been helping a family member get to and from doctor’s appointments, and that sucks up a lot of time. (It’s okay, though.)

5) I have been learning to build my own bows. There, I’ve said it. Building bows. In true caveman fashion, these bows can be made without sophisticated tools, master craftsmanship…shoot, without a steady work area, even. I’m not ready to divulge all the secrets just yet, but videos, stills, and an article are forthcoming. At this moment, I have built and shot four of my own bows. Two of the four work shockingly well, while two are…interesting. The Caveman Gym has, of late, been the Caveman Workshop. You guys will dig this, I believe.

Finally, I did “real” hammer curls with the 90s on Saturday. Fun.

Happy Shooting/Lifting/Frolicking!

Comments
  1. Bobby-T says:

    A craftsman who builds his own bows! Thats pretty cool! I look forward to seeing them and watching you shoot them. What draw weights are you getting with them? Are they accurate for you? I’m excited to hear that you’ve undertaken such an ambitious enterprise.

    Happy shooting, Bob

  2. Bob, “craftsman” may be too strong a word. I don’t have a bow scale, so I can’t answer you directly about that at the moment. I don’t want to give too much away, but the two “success” bows are very accurate. Multiple bull’s eyes this morning from 22 yards. I’m actually shocked that the bows work as well as they do, considering how cheaply and quickly I built them. You’ll see video soon, and it’s an ongoing project, so there may be multiple videos and articles involved as I work on different designs.

    Cheers!

  3. Mike Tracy says:

    Cool! I’m looking forward to seeing your home built bows. It sounds like a neat project.

  4. Chris says:

    I’ll chime in and say I was tickled when I saw them and delighted when I shot one. they are amazing and in true caveman fashion! I look forward to being a caveman padawan with a minor in Bowmaking.

  5. Mike,

    You’ll see video soon. I shot some footage yesterday, and I think I’ll have enough to cobble together a video or two this weekend.

    Chris,

    Thanks! I’m just getting warmed up, so be prepared for more designs. I am also going to begin dressing them up in various ways. It’s likely that you’ll need to “adopt” a few as time goes on!

Leave a Reply

