Workout Report: Caveman Gym 8/6/11

Posted: August 7, 2011 in Workout Reports

Yes, there was cavemannery afoot. I warmed up with the slam bag, then did bag lifts with the Blue Meanie for a good long time. I don’t know how many reps I got, but it was a goodly sum. I finished with block pushups for ten sets of ten. It was a good workout. It lasted all the way through Dark Tranquility’s “Character” and the first few songs of DT’s “Damage Done.” And yes, the damage was done indeed.

Happy Lifting!

*****

Update: I neglected to mention the nature of the equipment, assuming that everyone would know what I was talking about. Here’s a glossary of terms:

Blue Meanie: An Ironmind “Large” sandbag with 150 lbs of play sand inside of it. See the Sandbag videos for a look at it. Don’t think 150 pounds sounds like much? Try lifting this guy. It’s not joking around.

Slam Bag: This is an implement that is much like a sandbag, but filled with lighter, more elastic material, so that you can slam it, throw it, and otherwise channel all your pent-up aggression into it. Mine’s made of two polypro filler bags from Ironmind (yellow) filled with recycled rubber mulch, then put into a laundry bag.

Block pushups: By using cinderblocks, you can save your wrists, try a variety of angles, and increase your range of motion for a pushup. There’s a video. For this instance, I canted the ‘blocks to give me about 50% neutral supination, and the blocks were a few inches wider than shoulder width apart.

P.M.T.

Comments
  1. Bobby-T says:

    Man, I’m worn out just readin’ about it! I don’t know how long that music lasts, but it seems you got a good bit of workout in. It looks like the weather down your way is warming up a bit. It’s staying in the mid seventies here – really quite pleasant. I get out about every other day and fling arrows into a bag of rags. As you know, that’s a lot more fun than it sounds.

  2. Bob, I don’t know exactly how long the CD “Character” is, but I’m guessing that it’s somewhere between 45 and 50 minutes. Add two songs, and you’re talking almost an hour. There was no sitting down in that interval. It was a decent workout. I didn’t “go for broke”, but it was solid pacing. I was soaked with sweat by the end.

    It’s been pretty hot down here. If you can avoid being out during the middle of the day, that’s the smart move. Evenings are nice, though. I’ve been shooting the PVC bows pretty much to the exclusion of everything else (there are about eight of them kicking around at present and more in the formative stages). My PVC/Bamboo hybrid bow is the belle of the ball thus far, proving to be the fastest and most accurate of the bunch. I shot the Snake and my PVC short bow this evening. I’m currently making a bow for Craig, and Chris’s bow was built last week. They each have custom paint and cord-wrapped handles. They look pretty snazzy. I expect that I’ll be shooting video at some point.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

