Gall Bladder Surgery and Post-Op

Posted: September 19, 2011 in Articles

Hey, Folks.

As you can see, I haven’t been around much in the last few weeks. As my prior post indicated, it was discovered that I had gall stones. After talking about the situation with the surgeon, it seemed that the most straight-forward method of combating the problem was to take the gall bladder out. We don’t strictly NEED our gall bladder, as it just holds onto digestive juices that are created by the liver. It’s good to have one, but not if the one you’ve got has started to malfunction. If you’ve got gall stones, yep, it’s begun to malfunction.

The procedure that I went in for was called…something I can’t spell. The people in the know call it a “lap coli”, which means that it’s done with several small incisions, rather than one big one. This allows it to be less invasive of your body, and gives you a quicker recovery time. I went into surgery on Thursday at around noonish and was home before 5 PM.

Now, people will tell you that this surgery is a walk in the park, and I’m sure that, compared with some surgeries you could have, this is true. They are, however, going into your abdomen and taking parts out. That means that there’s going to be some soreness, and some weakness, and they’re going to knock you butt out with some serious drugs. I came through fine, and I seem to be on schedule in my recovery. I’m beginning to have an appetite and be able to eat somewhat normal foods again, though at a slow pace and in small amounts. All my parts are working. I’m still apt to get tired, and there’s soreness and fatigue that made me stay home today from work. Even tomorrow, I’m going to have to take it pretty easy. Still, since it’s not even a week, things are progressing well. I seem to be getting a little better every day.

In case any of you folks end up having to have this same procedure done, I’ll warn you that, in many cases, the puffiness from the gas they inflate your abdomen with is going to be more uncomfortable than the incision sites. Expect to have some shoulder, neck, and back pain as the gas slowly leaves your body cavity. Expect to look and feel puffy for the first handful of days.

I can walk around and do most things, as long as I’m very careful not to strain myself.  I suspect that at a week, I’ll be back to walking for longer distances, and that some of the residual soreness will have decreased. I was told to wait about three weeks before I begin to do the really strenuous stuff, though.

For that reason, it’ll be a while before you’ll see me pulling rail cars with my teeth or anything. I am going to take the doc’s advice and get back to things at a slow pace. I don’t want to ding myself up and have to go back under the knife to get things fixed. I bet that I’ll be able to shoot bows by this coming weekend, though, so I’ll have something to talk about.

That’s the news for now, and I hope you’re all well.

Leave a Reply

