A High Volume of Shooting

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Archery

Through the last few weeks, I’ve been shooting my bows. A lot.

Primarily, it’s been the two newest bows, the Omega Raptor and the Martin Hunter. Two very different bows with different feels to the shot.

The Omega Raptor is long and lean, a hybrid longbow that I bought specifically for long shooting sessions and to be a “form bow” to help me work on my shot sequence. It only pulls 41#, and is very smooth and easy. I’ve gotten a Robin Hood, and flirted with several more lately. If I do the work and get a solid shot off, the arrow’s going right where I want it most of the time.

The big Martin Hunter is a burly recurve that pulls 65#. I’ve had days that rank up there with some of my best ever shooting excursions with it already, but its weight makes it harder to be consistent some days. I had a few iffy days last week where I was a little all over the place, though the second day I shot with it was like shades of …I don’t know, someone really good.

Anyhow, that’s what’s been going on.

Leave a Reply

