Razor Blade Test: Gillette 7 o’clock Super Stainless

Posted: September 13, 2015 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Testing Protocols:

1) Feather AS-D2 Seki Edge All Stainless Razor
2) Proraso White Shave Soap; pre-shave treatment as needed
3) Escali Badger Hair Brush, soaked in warm water with 30 second load of soap
4) Three Pass shave
a) With the Grain
b) Across the grain from ear toward nose
c) Across/Against the grain (Cleanup as needed)
d) Lather after each pass
5) Comparative Baseline: Feather High-Stainless
6) All blades brand new
7) All grades assume the Feather is as stated below in subjective score
8) Grades (worst to best) Poor, Fair, Good, Great, Amazing

Feather High Stainless: (Baseline)

1) Sharpness: Amazing
2) Comfort: Great
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Japan
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: You Betcha!
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 3 or more

Gillette 7 o’clock Super Stainless

1) Sharpness: Fair
2) Comfort: Good
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Russia
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: No
7) Longevity (# of shaves): n/a
8) Notes: I tried the Gillette 7 o’clock razor subsequent to a very nice run with the Personna, and found myself underwhelmed. It is comforable enough shave, but left me with too much stubble still on my face. After doing my standard three pass shave, it felt as if I’d done an indifferent job and skipped the third pass, with palpable roughness at my jawline and the side of my neck. I’ve had shaves with the same number of passes that had less roughness – the next day. It is possible that a more aggressive razor would work better with this blade. A slant bar or open comb might find this one to be a great match. With the AS-D2, however, it isn’t efficient to make a decent go of shaving, to my way of thinking. If I have to shave every day of the work week, no matter whether the shave is smooth or not, I end up beginning to be irritated in my trouble spots. I find that getting a very close shave that allows me to skip a day is the way to go. Because this blade didn’t produce a close shave, I have to move on to the next one. It failed to equal the best blades in this razor in any category, and thus washes out of the battle royale.

Leave a Reply

