Razor Blade Review: Gillette Nacet Stainless

Posted: October 11, 2015 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Testing Protocols:

1) Feather AS-D2 Seki Edge All Stainless Razor
2) Proraso White Shave Soap; pre-shave treatment as needed
3) Escali Badger Hair Brush, soaked in warm water with 30 second load of soap
4) Three Pass shave
a) With the Grain
b) Across the grain from ear toward nose
c) Across/Against the grain (Cleanup as needed)
d) Lather after each pass
5) Comparative Baseline: Feather High-Stainless
6) All blades brand new
7) All grades assume the Feather is as stated below in subjective score
8) Grades (worst to best) Poor, Fair, Good, Great, Amazing

Feather High Stainless: (Baseline)

1) Sharpness: Amazing
2) Comfort: Great
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Japan
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: You Betcha!
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 3 or more

Gillette Nacet Stainless:

1) Sharpness: Good
2) Comfort: Great
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Russia
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: Yes
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 4 or more shaves
8) Notes: I wasn’t sure what to expect with the Nacet blades, as some of their packaging associates them with the 7 o’clock brand. The previous blade test with that brand’s logo didn’t fare so well. The Nacet blade, however, seems to be a horse of a different color. I got four very comfortable shaves with the blade I tried, and found it to be a good match with the AS-D2 razor. While it didn’t seem as sharp and efficient as some blades I’ve tried, it was easy to shave with and certainly yielded good results. This brand seems a bit more expensive than some of its competitors, but it does provide a solid shave. I feel like the Wilkinsons and Astras beat it out on sharpness, as does the Feather blade. In comfort, it
peforms on par with the Personna blade. Certainly worth a try!

Comments
  1. Jack says:

    I have a really hard beard. wire. Nacet works amazing for me. Sharpness is more than good. In my opinion is a better blade than Feather. And the same sharp and more flexible so more smooth shaves. Feather is too much rigid . You do not have a smooth shave with feather.
    Sharpness : GREAT.

    • Jim says:

      Feathers are indeed sharper than Nacet ss…. by a little. Too many take that to mean “better”. They are not. They draw blood far too easily and leave skin a red irritated mess. If i have to concentrate so hard trying and go so slow to avoid blood, it destroys the enjoyment of the shave full stop.The Nacets are *just* behind them in outright sharpness and still manage to remain incredibly smooth and easy on the skin. Compared to my trusty work horse Astra SP which I have used exclusively for 4 years, Nacet stainless are noticeably sharper and smoother from the first stroke. You can tell instantly that they cut whiskers more easily with less resistance plus the fact that they do draw blood a tad more easily than Astras. They also perform better in hard to get smooth areas like the neck or under the bottom lip/chin area.They sit right in the sweet spot of sharpness/smoothness/forgiveness/Longevity. On top of this, you can buy 1000 Nacets for under $80 shipped to the door. 1000 Feathers would cost over $200. With the price difference, you could throw in a nice new razor, while still using superior blades. A no brainer IMHO. YMMV

      • Jim, I’ve found that blades can be pretty subjective. I often get similar results to other people, but not always. I am a big fan of the Astra SP blade. They are generally as sharp as I need for any of my razors, and their smoothness is a big selling point. I find the Feathers to be a little prone to biting, and the efficiency isn’t that much higher. I may have to go back and look again at a few of the blades in the sampler, like the Nascet. Having only one blade to test, I’m sure some good blades may have failed to catch my attention as they should. As it stands, the Astras are my “sharp” blade choice, while the Personna Lab Blue is my middle-of-the-road blade, with Derby Extras for the very aggressive razors, or days when I have some irritation issues. I don’t know if I’d ever get a 1K pack of blades. A hundred pack is quite an engagement for me. The three blades mentioned above are the only ones I’ve purchased in that volume.

        Thanks for your comment, and happy shaving.

Leave a Reply

