Razor Blade Review, Super-Max Platinum

Posted: December 20, 2015 in Shaving Articles, Uncategorized
Tags:

As I have posted the review criteria for these blade tests in all my previous reviews, I am going to go ahead and omit them from here on out. If you are interested in looking at the methodology, please look back at the earlier tests, or let me know in the comments, and I’ll repost. 

-Patrick

Super-Max Platinum

1) Sharpness: Good
2) Comfort: Good
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: India
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: Yes
7) Longevity (# of shaves):
8) Notes: The first shave provided good smoothness and closeness very close to ideal. The blade seems to be of moderate sharpness, as it doesn’t fly across my face. That said, it was sufficiently sharp for me to get an excellent shave. While not as smooth as the very smoothest of the blade I’ve tried in this razor, it still allowed me to go over areas a few extra times without lathing my face again. Irritation was minimal, with only the characteristic raspberry on my neck that I always get from shaving. I did provide essentially ideal conditions for success on this shave, with lather aplenty and only a moderate amount of growth. We’ll have to see what the second shave brings. For the second shave with this blade, I went with a two pass shave, as it was the late afternoon of a Saturday, and I didn’t need world-eclipsing closeness. The blade aquitted itself well in this regard, leaving about the level of closeness that I have come to expect with a maintenance shave. No irritation here, nothing untoward. The final shave was back to the standard, and I found that the Super-Max blade again did just fine. I didn’t notice any real sense of edge dulling after three shaves, and so it appears to be a somewhat robust edge. All in all, the Super-Max Platinum blade proved to be a good middle-of-the-road blade. Not super sharp, not the final word in smoothness, but more than adequate in both metrics. I finished the final test shave with near-perfect closeness, and no negative irritation to report. Although it didn’t fly across the face like the sharpest of the blades, it got the job done. It may not have been as smooth as the Derby Extra, but it allowed me to go for a maximum closeness shave without chewing up my face. Certainly worth a look for those seeking a nice middle ground blade. I’m sure that, in their home market, the Super-Max blades have their share of devotees.

Leave a Reply

