Addendum – Polsilver Blade Review

Posted: July 1, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

I’m not here to take anything away from the performance of the Polsilver Super Iridium blade, a product that cleared every hurdle, aced every test. I asked things from that blade that I don’t typically ask. More shaves. Different razors, close-coupled shaves. I can easily recommend that anyone who is in the market for a new blade try a sample.

No, I’m here to share just a little kernel I’ve since uncovered. I’ve made no secret of the fact that I’m very fond of the Astra Superior Platinum blade. Enough so that I bought a hundred pack. That’s the shaving equivalent of getting married to a blade. You’re going to have them kicking around for a long, long time. If a blade lasts a week or so, and you’re using a blade steadily, that’s nearly two years of solid shaving. And when have you ever known a hobbyist to stick with just one thing? We have wandering eyes and inquisitive personalities. We’re fickle, as easily distracted as a bird with a shiny dime.

All dithering aside, I put an Astra through something quite similar to the Polsilver, and it performed admirably, giving a tremendous shave on its fourth outing, using  a different razor than when it had started. Prior to that, I did a similar thing with a Personna Blue. It also performed well, though I discarded it after three shaves. It likely had another shave or two in it, but I have no real need to push things. I pushed the Astra because I’d been doing somewhat less extensive shaves with it, and it felt sharp yet. I likely could have slapped it in my slant head Merkur and done another three maintenance shaves with it without beginning to tug or judder. (The 39c Merkur isn’t terribly critical of blade sharpness.)

There are a lot of good blades out there. Not all razors and shavers will agree on which ones they are. Some swear by blades that I find absolutely awful. The Derby Extra, a blade I quite admire and use with some frequency, catches a lot of bad vibes with some shavers. There is no “right” answer for everyone. If two products work equally, though, and one is much less expensive…

Leave a Reply

