Razor Blade Review: Voshkod Teflon Coated

Posted: August 1, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Voshkod Telflon Coated

1) Sharpness: Good
2) Comfort: Good
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Russia
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: Yes
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 3
8) Notes: There are some people who basically swear by the Voshkod blade. It is purported to be a very smooth operator. For sensitive shavers, or for people who prefer a fairly agressive razor, some hold it in great esteem. This is apropos of nothing in particular, as we are duty-bound to embark upon each test as a voyage into great science. We are not informed by the anecdotal information provided to us, instead stolidly adhering to our methodology. We trust to the pillars of science in the shaving den, like castaways upon a stormy sea. (They’re going to cart me away to the nut house if I keep on like this.)

First shave, then. Gillette Slim Adjustable on setting 4. WSP Fougere Noir soap. My first impression is this is a fairly smooth blade, perhaps not quite as sharp as an Astra SP. Certainly not spiky, it went through the hairs nicely. I had no real urge or need to turn the Gillette up a notch. I had shaved with the same razor the day before using a 3rd shave Astra, so I had a pretty good handle on what that would be like. The result of the shave was very nice, but not quite reference level in smoothness. That could have had to do with me not being absolutely obsessive in regard to buffing the last remnants. I’ve been shaving more often than I’m used to of late, and I have to be careful not to put too much stress on the old face. It’ll take further experimentation on my part to come to a conclusion. Thus far, my impressions is that it’s good, smooth, and just on the sharp side of the line, tending toward moderate.

The second shave was with my Gillette ’67 Superspeed, using the WSP soap once again. This seemed to be an excellent match, giving be a very comfortable shave over three passes. Not quite reference level closeness, but a damn fine shave nonetheless. After some of the more aggressive shaves I’ve been having of late, it was quite nice to have a gentle razor for a break. I didn’t have to struggle or do a lot of clean-ups to get where I wanted to be. The Voshkod is sharp enough to perform in a mild razor. I would call it a slightly better match for the light Superspeed than the Personna Lab Blue. Just on the sharp side of moderate, but smooth.

Third shave. Gillette Tech, WSP soap. Comfortable, fairly close. I felt like, by the third pass of this shave, I was starting to feel the blade lose its edge a little. I had to buff the razor to get through some of the last bit of stubble. I’m sure that the easy-going nature of the Tech a had a bit to do with this phenomenon. That said, the Tech is no milder than the aluminum-handle Superspeed, so I take it to suggest that the Voshkod blade may not have an infinite number of ideal shaves in it. I discarded the blade afterward, though it could have probably provided at least one more decent shave. If I’d have loaded it into my Merkur 39c, it would certainly have been okay for one more maintenance two-passer.

The Voshkod struck me as a solid middle-of-the-road choice. I didn’t find it to be vastly superior to blades such as the Personna Lab Blue. Or, in point of fact, the Dorco ST-301 that I reviewed recently. I’ll certainly use the rest of these blades, and I can imagine that I’d be perfectly capable of getting along with them, were they the easiest ones to find. If you’re looking for an all-around blade, the Voshkod should be on your list to try. Maybe not a “must try” but they get a solid nod, especially if your choice in razors runs to the agressive side.

Leave a Reply

