Razor Blade Review: Perma-Sharp Super

Posted: August 14, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Perma-Sharp Super

1) Sharpness: Great
2) Comfort: Great
3) Value: Fair
4) Availability: Good
5) Country of Origin: Russia
6) Passes “First Shave Test?: Yes
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 5, maybe more(!)
8) Notes: I’ve been hearing a lot of positive noise about the Perma-Sharp blades of late. As an interested party, I decided to procure a few and give them a test to see if the buzz was justified.

For the first shave, I decided that I should get back to the actual test razor for this series, the Feather AS-D2 Seki Edge All Stainless (don’t worry, I won’t use the full name often, as it is a bit of an absurdity).

Loading in the blade, I prepped my face with a Noxzema wash, then lathered up some WSP Fougere Noir soap with my current favorite brush, the Plissoft from Razorock. What followed was a wonderfully comfortable shave. Part of it was the AS-D2, part of it was the lather, but the Perma-Sharp blade played a key role. On the first shave, it struck me as a smooth, very comfortable blade with plenty of sharpness. The closeness of the shave was right up there with the best I’ve seen from the razor, with no cuts, weepers, or irritation. To be honest, it had been a while since I shaved with the AS-D2, and it was an eye-opener. I’d enjoyed all the vintage razors I’ve been picking up so much that I may have forgotten how great a razor this is. Taking nothing away from the vintage razors, but Feather makes a heck of a shaving machine. I picked it for these tests so that there would be no apologies or confounding variables. The blades, provided they’re at least a little sharp, should function to their best effect.

Having passed the first shave test with ease, I carried on, employing my 40’s era Gillette Superspeed with basically the same periperhal equipment as above. Another good shave. Nothing to worry about from the Perma-Sharp blade. Smoothness and sharpness presented no issues in this shave.

The third shave with the Perma-Sharp blade was one for the books. Bowl-lathered Taylor of Old Bond Street Rose shave cream, having done a Noxzema face cleanse beforehand. One of the best shaves I’ve ever had. Perhaps the best. The razor worked wonderfully in the 40’s era Gillette Superspeed. Very smooth. Very effective. I was well pleased with all included products. The blade fared so well that I’ll carry on with additional shaves through the week, seeing what kind of lifespan it might have. I can already tell you that these blades are worth a try. Very much so. More to come…

Overtime: Fourth shave was a two-pass with my Gillette Slim Adjustable (setting 5), sliding on Arko soap. Another good one, very comfortable, plenty close. No sign that this blade is done.

Fifth shave, again with the Slim Adjustable, this time on setting six. Two passes, sliding on WSP Rustic soap. Even closer shave, no irritation or chattering across the skin. It appears that Perma-Sharp is not kidding around with their moniker. The blade continues to perform. Still seems sharp enough to do the job, and I’ve felt no roughness yet. Very pleased. Rather than go on endlessly, I’ll just cap this with the total number of shaves I was able to get before things started degenerating.

In the end, I had seven shaves, every one good. The last two were with the Slim, on setting seven, two passes. This blade never gave me any irritation. No weepers, no cuts. Excellent closeness, right to the end. Its last act was to shave my neck, blind, for two passes. No problem. I may well have been able to get another shave or two out of it, but it’s not in my best interest to keep on until things become un-fun. Suffice it to say that people who brag about this blade lasting them longer than you’d typically believe, the stories might just be true. I’ve certainly never pushed a blade this long. Usually, by shave four, I feel some obvious degeneration.

I have to give my strongest recommendation that you give the Perma-Sharp blade a try. As with anything, it might not work with your setup and your face, but I find it to be a heck of a blade. The combination of smooth performance and excellent staying power have really impressed me. Hat tip to you, Perma-Sharp.

Leave a Reply

