Razor Blade Review: Rapira Platinum Lux

Posted: September 24, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

1) Sharpness: Great
2) Comfort: Good
3) Value: Good
4) Availability: Fair
5) Country of Origin: Russia
6) Passes “First Shave Test?”: Yes
7) Longevity (# of shaves): 3
8) Notes: My shave reviews, of late, have gone thoroughly out of control in terms of word count. I’ll keep this one to come version of brevity.

I quite liked the other Rapira blade I tried, the Swedish Supersteel. I was thusly intrigued with how the Platinum Lux would shave.

In short, it did quite well. Sharp enough, smooth enough. Perhaps not quite as good as the Astra SP. Not as smooth as the Polsilver. Didin’t seem to have the uncanny lasting power of the Perma-Sharp. Still, a creditable performance.

For associated equipment, I used a Gillette Knack, a British Gillette Rocket “Parat”, and my trusty Feather AS-D2. No bad shaves, no wholesale bleeding around the bathroom sink. While not as remarkable as a few of the blades I’ve tried, but certainly a good option, if you want a sharp blade with some smoothness to it. It doesn’t upset my whole understanding of the universe, however, or cause me to change all my preconceptions. Worth a try.

Leave a Reply

