Shaving Soap Review: Razorock “XXX”

Posted: September 27, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Ease of Lathering:
Very easy. This is a soft Italian soap, and thus is easy to load, easy to lather, and generally easy to work with. There is no accident that the soft soap or “croap” is such a popular form in the industry.

Protection:
Excellent. The XXX soap produces a protective, thick lather that should satisfy almost any shaver. Right up there with the best I’ve used.

Residual Slickness:
Good slickness is left behind as this soap is scraped away. Although prudence dictates that we always have at least a light layer of soap on the skin when we pass our razors over, sometimes we have some, ahem, interesting techniques. This RazoRock soap seems to allow us to go over “bare” skin without any trouble. Still, keep in mind that the amount of soap left over on the skin depends somewhat on the razor you’re using. Some leave a lot, some very little.

Scent:
The first time I smelled the inactive soap, I thought…hmm, I don’t know. Once I lathered it up, though, I started to like it more and more. I would call this a spicy, floral, but certainly masculine scent. I think there is some element of musk as an undertone. It strikes me as an Italian scent. Perhaps a barbershop scent, within the parlance of the Italian tradition. I found that the longer I smelled it, the more I liked it. Of course, all scent discussions are subjective ones. Over the course of time, it has come to be one of my very favorite soaps in terms of smell. That’s the only data point I can give you.

Production/Value:
This is a killer deal. I got this soap for about ten bucks, and this is a seriously excellent, artisan-made soap. At times, it is available even cheaper via italianbarber.com You’re getting a top-notch, small batch soap for the price of a mass market product. Although this is a soft soap, and will go away faster than a triple-milled hard puck, the quality, scent, and performance are all aces. There are few products that give you this level of soap for anywhere near the price. Many of those are made by Razorock/Italian Barber. They are a force to be reckoned with in the shaving world.

Notes:
I’ve heard a lot of good things about RazoRock soaps, and I find them to be borne out by this soap. I’m seriously pleased with this product. In point of fact, I haven’t found a single product from this brand that has been less than excellent. Highly recommended. If the scent I’ve described isn’t your scene, there are tons of scents to choose from. Also, keep in mind that this soap does have tallow as an ingredient, so if you’re vegetarian or vegan, that might put you off. Fear not. Razorock has several soaps that use a vegan formulation. The experiences I’ve had with the vegan base soap is that it gives a very similar shave. Give this one a try. It should be right near the top of anyone’s list.

Leave a Reply

