More time with the Schick Krona

Posted: October 2, 2016 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

In my earlier article about the Schick Krona, I think I came off as a little bit lukewarm on the razor. In fact, I was. Not because it was bad, but because it had a few knocks against it. It wasn’t all metal, for one. For another, I just have a lot of good razors, and so there has to be something special going on before I’m impressed.

I felt like I gave it a bit of the short shrift, so I took the Krona out for another try. I paired it with the Polsilver Super Iridium blade. Boy, is that a good match. I got some really excellent shaves this time out, and fond feelings about the Schick began to form in my mind.

The dynamics of the razor are good. It does cut a lot like a Gillette Superspeed or a Knack. Certainly a comfortable shave, and perfectly capable of a great shave with the right peripherals.

As an aside, yeah, the Polsilver blades are really great. They are, in fact, worth the extra cash. Load one in, and you’ve upgraded your razor. Not all razors need this, but if you’re a little on the bubble about whether a razor is performing up to expectations, try a Polsilver in it.

Did I give the Krona too little attention and respect the first time out? Yeah. I did. That said, I have gained a greater understanding and respect for this old razor. Schick was a bit late to the double edge game, but their one big push into that market segment was a solid shaving tool. They’re available and fairly inexpensive, as the current market goes. Someone looking to dip their pinky toe into the waters of vintage razors could certainly pick one up with confidence, provided it’s in good mechanical shape.

Just keep in mind that the Krona was never a top-of-the-line item. It was conceived and marketed as an inexpensive alternative to the Gillettes of the day. That doesn’t make it bad, but anything that has been designed to hit a price point will have a few compromises built in. It’s not going to be the most luxurious shaver you’ve ever seen. There are a few cosmetic imperfections on mine that seem to arise from an imperfect plating job from the factory.  I’m still happy to have one in my collection, and to know that it still shaves well, all these years later.

Leave a Reply

