Quick Take: Taylor of Old Bond Street Sandalwood Cream

Posted: August 4, 2017 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

I’ve done multiple reviews on Taylor cream. It’s good stuff, and is basically my reference for what a lathering shave cream is supposed to do. Thus, let’s get right down to the only difference between this one and the various others I’ve spoken about in the past. That being, of course, the scent.

Much has been said about the Taylor’s sandalwood. Many have gone on the record saying that it is their favorite sandalwood scent. For many people, their first “real” shaving gear tends to include this cream. It is heavily recommended by Amazon, and that probably has a lot to do with it. While I did go with a sandalwood soap as my first, I went with the Proraso Red. I am a fan of sandalwood. Woody sandalwood. My favorite versions of the scent are fairly forthright, without much in the way of cologne side scents to get it by. My favorite, to date, is the Captain’s Choice aftershave, which is basically sandalwood over the top of bay rum, with a strong woody element. Proraso sandalwood, with the strong primary scent, then some powdery barbershop scents over the top, also right up there.

You may feel that I’m not getting right to the point. This is true. I’m not. Why? Probably because, for me, this, the vaunted TOBS sandalwood just doesn’t do it for me. It is way too subtle, not nearly woody enough, and I get almost nothing once it’s lathered. It may as well not have a scent component at all, once it’s on the face. I was shocked and momentarily without any good idea of how to articulate this when I was doing my demo shave. I suppose that it is possible that I somehow got a batch that, for one reason or another, just didn’t have the full punch that it should. Mine is a sample. That said, every other sample I’ve tried has been at full power, and exhibited all the normal elements that the soap would do in a full container.

So, then, without wishing to, or wanting to, I have to say that my own findings are greatly at odds with the opinions I’ve heard about this soap. In my trip through the world of Taylor’s scents, it’s my least favorite to date. As is often said, scent is altogether subjective, so you may go along with the crowd on this one, and love it right to death.

Cheers, and happy shaving!

Leave a Reply

