Quick Take: Razorock Santal Royale

Posted: October 14, 2017 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

I make no apologies to anyone. Razorock soaps are the most numerous in my stable. Why? Because they work well for me, come in at a great price, and allow me to try a lot of different scents. Also, Italian Barber has always treated me right in terms of getting the stuff to me on time and in good condition. I have no direct relationship with the IB people. I’ve never spoken directly to them, and I am provided no promotional considerations. Everything I review here was purchased for normal cost.

I am a big fan of sandalwood scents. That said, my tastes run to a woody scent without too much musk or foofy cologne scent along with it. Proraso Red or Captain’s Choice, for instance, are my ideal examples of what I like.

Santal Royale is…different. It’s a good scent. A complex scent. It might be just a bit pungent for me. This isn’t an issue with the soap itself. The transitory nature of a soap scent will typically not cause an issue, even when stronger than normal. This is the case with the Santal Royale.

I found that, though there is a component of sandalwood here, there are so many other elements at play that it doesn’t quite give me that “thing” I am looking for. I would call the scent more of a “dark” cologne scent than exactly a sandalwood. I get the sense that there is some similarity to the Oud scent profile you might find in “The Stallion”, but it isn’t quite as powerful as that particular soap.

Performance of the soap is up to the standard for this line of products, and I have no complaints about it.

Overall, this is a recommended product, as long as you’re not looking for the Proraso Red style, or the Taylor’s style sandalwood. It is very different from Proraso, and far more potent than Taylor’s. This is all related to how my nose works. You may have much different feelings about all of this.

I ended up PIFing this soap to a friend, as I have a number of scents that I prefer over the Santal Royale. Particularly with the companion aftershave, I just found it a bit too pungent for my taste. We try things. They don’t always suit us. It’s part of the game, and part of the fun (provided that you’re not spending yourself into the poor house.)

Cheers, and Happy Shaving!

Leave a Reply

