Quick Take: Razorock Gold

Posted: October 18, 2017 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Last Razorock soap for a while, I promise.

Performance: 

Again, we see good performance from the soap, with easy lathering, voluminous results, and clean rinsing. The upshot of all of this is that, if you like any of the RR croaps, chances are that you’ll like any of them.

Scent: 

The Gold scent, to my nose, strikes me as one of those moderate priced cologne scents that are popular with the young dudes. Not a bad scent. Rather forthright. Nothing too challenging, nothing too old-fashioned. It isn’t a scent I feel will become one of my daily picks, but it smells nice, and is certainly not the topic of any buyer’s remorse on my part. I’d call it leather, a little spice, a little musk. A warm scent.

Overall:

For a different shaver, perhaps a guy in his late 20s or early 30s, it might key into his scent preference better. For me, I tend to like citrus-based or spicy products a bit better, with the occasional foray into woodsy scents and fouger.

Anyway, the soap is good, and available for a reasonable price. It basically conforms to all the good things I’ve seen in all the other reviews of RR soaps. I’ve A/B tested RR soaps with tons of different brands and price ranges, and rarely found that they were thoroughly outclassed by another soap. Sometimes bettered in some areas, but not rendered obsolete or undesirable.

I’ve read that other people do not have this experience, and find that most of the RR soaps leave something to be desired for them. I’m sure that their points are valid, as everyone has a different skin composition and level of sensitivity to various chemical components. I have frequently handed a soap that I have great luck with to someone else, only to find them far less impressed. And that’s okay. There are so many products out there. The journey IS the destination, and some just have to look in different places.

Cheers, and Happy Shaving!

Leave a Reply

