L.A. Shaving Soap Company “Woody Lavender”

Posted: October 28, 2017 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

Ease of Lathering: Very easy. This is one of the soap formulations that would be difficult to complain about in terms of ease-of-use. It loads onto the brush with no trouble at all, and doesn’t take any special preparation to get a solid lather. Not a surprise. This soap is well lauded, and with what we understand about formulations today, there’s no real need to have anything less than good performance.

Protection: Depending upon how you choose to lather this soap, you can have it somewhat thick, or very voluminous. While this might appear to be a rather facile and almost useless statement on my part, not all soaps lend themselves to this dichotomy. I’ve found that this soap doesn’t seem to need an enormous amount of water. If you do work some water into the lather, it will become voluminous. I mean, lather everywhere, like you’d get with a cream when you put too much into the lathering bowl. I find, though, that the best performance I had with it was with a little less water worked in. In this, a slightly thicker iteration, it protects wonderfully well. As in, I was emboldened to crank a Merkur Futur up to “6” while using this soap. For those who are not familiar with the Futur, setting 6 is the “imminent death” level of aggression. All went well, and so kudos to the soap maker.

Residual Slickness: I found that the slickness was just fine with this soap. When rinsing between passes, my wet hands slipped across my face with speed and ice-rink smoothness. As with any soap, if your face dries out, there will be no glide or slickness, but this one seemed to leave plenty of soapy goodness behind.

Scent: I like woody scents. I like lavender. This soap offers exactly what it says on the tin. Promotional literature indicates that it has lavender, ho wood, amyris, and West Indian Bay. Sure. Sounds good. I’m not a perfumer, so I don’t have a solid understanding of how all the interactions and synergies work. I can only tell you what it smells like to me. It smells woody, beneath a nice lavender. The scent strength isn’t potent, but it is present, and I am a fan. The scent doesn’t linger after the shave is over, so you needn’t worry that it will outstay its welcome.

Production/Value: In most cases, artisan soaps are a fairly good value. Because they produce so many shaves per ounce, even ones that are a bit more expensive tend to give you a lot of performance. In the case of LA Shaving Soap stuff, it is on the higher range of what I’d call “moderate priced” soap. Because I’ve seen a range of prices, I’m not going to quote you anything here. Suffice it to say that it’s somewhat more than a lot of the other artisans you’ll find. The performance and quality are good, though, and if you think that this scent, or another one in their catalog, sound like your cup of tea, the price shouldn’t be an impediment (Unless is is. I don’t know your financial situation.)

Notes: This is a vegan based soap. It can be said that, because I hadn’t really studied this soap before using it, I was in the dark and didn’t make any assumptions. I shaved several times before looking it up and finding that it was vegan. I’d been pleased with the performance, and had some inkling that it might be a tallow soap. That means that it was taking care of me pretty well. It also means that we can sometimes disabuse ourselves of our notions by simply using a product prior to looking too deeply into it. There are several ways to formulate soap, and several different paths to great success. This represents one of those paths.

I can’t say that the LA soap is an entire order of magnitude beyond any of the more value-priced offerings you can find. It does a great job, and smells nice. The same could be said of many others. Money for money, I’d take Razorock Essential Oil of Lavender. If money is not a prime concern, I would suggest you give it a try.

Cheers, and Happy Shaving!

Leave a Reply

