Quick Takes: Soap Commander “Courage”

Posted: October 31, 2017 in Shaving Articles
Tags:

I’ve done a few reviews of the Soap Commander formulation, so I’ll cut right to it.

The Soap Commander soap base is a hard (as in solid) vegan formulation that benefits from either starting with a wet brush or doing a light bloom/soak of the puck before loading. I’d characterize the ease of use as moderate. There’s a slight learning curve in loading enough soap onto the brush and hitting the right amount of water, but it’s nothing big. You just have to be slightly more patient.

The quality of lather, once ready, is really good. Not wildly voluminous, but very slick and protective. The lather strikes me as dense, rather than fluffy. Rinses clean and provides a good, nutrative base for your shave.

With Soap Commander, I think their greatest strength is their scents. Without being wildly potent, they linger, and always retain their nuance, rather than cooking down to only the strongest note.

Courage, to me, is the least exciting of the scents I’ve tried. It’s a nice, clean smell that would easily slot into an everyday role. I think it verges on a barbershop scent. Nice, bright citrus with some woody and spicy notes. Manly enough, but not musky, dark, or heavy. It isn’t as strong as Passion or Fortitude.

For some, this is their exact thing. I find that Courage is a little subtle for me, and certainly doesn’t knock Fortitude off of my list of favorite SC scents. It took me several shaves to really start appreciating it, but it did grow on me. If the notes hit your comfort zone, though, it’s totally worth a try.

As with all Soap Commander soaps, the packaging is well-made and the graphic design is effective.

Cheers, and Happy Shaving!

Leave a Reply

