Those things that hold your torso up

Posted: August 7, 2013 in Unfocused Rambling, Workout Reports

So,

I felt like my current program, as neat as it was, lacked legs. We’re working from the stone soup recipe book here, it seems. Anyway, I was talking to my friend Dave the other day, who is doing the 400 challenge. That’s doing 100 pushups, 100 situps, 100 body weight squats, and 100 bodyweight rows in 17 minutes or less. Or, in most cases, trying to do that.

Now, I don’t want to go after that goal at this moment, worthy as it is, but it put me in mind of body weight squats. Which I will be adding to my routine. I did the first bout of them (100 total) yesterday. I did a few sets of twenty, then dropped to ten careful reps each set for the rest. My first foray will probably be working toward 5×20, then 4×25, and who knows what after that.

With the state of my knees, the bodyweight squats are a fairly friendly way to get some leg work in, and I can do them almost anywhere (but not at work, I’d rip my pants.)

I’m considering adding a few other things in, perhaps as part of a Saturday remedial workout.

Exercises that are on the docket:

Sandbag Turkish get ups

Large sandbag lifts to standing position (I have enough overhead work already)

Pushups (I’ve been considering making a run at a hundred consecutive for a while now).

***

Those are my thoughts at this hour. Cheers!

Leave a comment